Be Who You Want To Be

I caught myself by surprise looking at my life in a strange way.
At dawn I heard a noise outside my door. My curiosity got the better of me and I
awoke.
I opened the door took a few steps out, and that is when I saw my fate.
Who I thought I was meant to be, wasn’t actually who I was meant to be at all.
I was shocked with what I was seeing right outside my door, I felt honoured.
My heart and body felt cold, but my fate was revealed so there was nothing to
feel scared about. I slowly rewarmed my heart and thought about the story of my
life.
At that moment I wanted to go far away and live the life I was meant to live,
not the life I was being forced to live by others.
Before the sun was up I was gone. All my worries and stress drifted away from me
like a feeling I never felt before. I was finally happy.
My trip never lasted long. I reached my destination in a few hours time.
I finally could feel the sun on my face, the wind blowing my hair around, I felt
free.
I never looked back from that day on. I kept moving forward and loving myself,
and most importantly I became the person I wanted to be.
— —
Today in the morning I was having a conversation with my family. We were talking
about where do we see ourselves in 5 years time. I told my family ” well, I see
myself following in your footsteps (my parents). Running the company you
worked so hard to make for me and my brother”. That is when my parents asked “Is
this really what you want?” A few years back if my parents asked me this question
my answer would of been a positive no, because I was angry at them for reasons
that I don’t even bother remembering anymore, but now deep down I knew very well
this is what I wanted. I wanted to make my parents and family proud. My answer to
my parents was “Yes, this is what I want to do with my life”.

The reason for this post today is, don’t allow someone to force you to do
anything in your life. It is your life, you are the boss of it, you control your
life. If you don’t enjoy what you are doing in your life, how can you live happily?

I hope you enjoy reading my post!

11 thoughts on “Be Who You Want To Be

  1. Aqsa Rahim says:

    So true; why should we let others run our lives, when we are capable of doing it ourselves in a 10 times better positive way? Great post, and thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

